Testing & Performance

Nationally Mandated Testing

Students in grade 4 take the National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP).

State Mandated Testing

State Testing and Reporting (STAR) includes the California Achievement Test, Sixth Edition (CAT/6) and the California Standards Test (CST) for grades 2-5. These test reading, language, math, spelling and writing. The results are used to report the school's Academic Performance Index (API). California English Language Development Test (CELDT) monitors the progress of English learners in grades K-5. In fifth grade, students take a physical fitness test called FITNESSGRAM .

District Mandated Testing

San Diego Unified students take the Stanford Diagnostic Reading Test (SDRT) and the Analytic Reading Inventory (ARI) in grades 4-5 and the Developmental Reading Assessment (DRA) in grades K-3. Fifth-graders are also given a mathematics exit exam used for placement at the middle school level.

Special Education Testing

Parents may request a district psychologist and resource specialist evaluate their children for learning disabilities. Requests are to be made to the principal. A Response to Intervention team (RTI) will meet with the parent or guardian to determine the appropriateness of the request.


Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2024 SchoolMessenger Corporation. All rights reserved.